CPS Investigated Me Because I Had Postpartum Depression

Michele Merritt
13 min readMar 27, 2020

We are failing new moms

My first child arrived after what was arguably one of the longest labors ever recorded — 60 hours. I had hoped he would be born at home with my licensed nurse practitioner midwife. We lived within walking distance of the hospital, had a solid backup plan, and had a hospital bag packed just in case. When I began having contractions one Wednesday morning, it seemed like he would be making an appearance later that night, or maybe Thursday at the latest. But the labor was extremely slow to progress. Things didn’t get intense until late Thursday, and when my midwife checked me, I was still only 3cm dilated. Despite the incredible pain, I decided to keep going at home. But by Friday afternoon, I was exhausted. I had made it to 8cm, but was just sort of stuck, making no progress for hours. My midwife’s regulations allowed only 48 hours of attempting to deliver at home before we had to go in. She had not officially started the clock until Wednesday evening when she completed her first cervical examination on me, so this meant we had a couple more hours before I would have to go into the hospital. My husband was upset when I told him emphatically that no, it is time. He knew what was coming. There was no way I was getting out of this without a C-section. I had wanted so badly to go ‘all natural,’ and he knew this was going to…

--

--

Michele Merritt

Philosophy professor. Adoptee. Advocate. Activist. Marathon swimmer. Cheese consumer. I write about dogs a lot. michelemerritt.com